2015 APrIGF Elections

Candidate Profile

Vice-Chair Position (2015-2017)

Mr. Anupam Agrawal

Title: Chair, Internet Society Kolkata
Geographical Location: India
Stakeholder Group: Technical Community

A Information Technology Practitioner with leadership experience in IT Public Policy, Corporate Industry Forums, Information Technology Standards, & Program Implementation. An experienced Information Technology trainer, keynote speaker, panelist, leader and key influencer for advocacy and outreach, with wide international exposure across stakeholder groups. Finance Degree from ICAI & ICWAI, India; IT Security Degree from ISACA, USA & Internet Governance Certification from University of Aarhus, Germany & Next Generation Leaders Program of Internet Society in association with DIPLO Foundation.

Competencies include providing inputs for Policy formulation and development of technologies and roadmaps and driving grass root campaigns and program implementation which has been tested as Chair of Internet Society Kolkata, Co Anchor Data Security Council of India & serving multiple roles in TATA Consultancy Services. In the current role of specialist at TCS in Corporate Industry Forums & Standards Cell, working on initiatives to align individual growth, business growth and influence market through structured plans & programs across TCS. Also, as a Member of Government of India Working group having terms of reference as Increased Participation from India in standardization of Internet Technologies have conceived Indian IETF Capacity Building Program (IICB) which is being piloted now.

Participated in multiple IGF, ICANN meetings and have received fellowships from ICANN, ISOC, NIXI and have worked very closely with the national delegation of India in ITU Busan, Extremely passionate on capacity development initiatives, earlier have signed MOU with APNIC for capacity development of IPv6, initiated e Connect NorthEast along with FICCI and now leading the efforts to have the first L root instance in India at Kolkata in close collaboration with ICANN.


Other Candidates:

Mr. Paul Wilson | Mr. Arun Sukumar | Dr. Nikhil Agarwal | Mr. Anupam Agrawal