2018 APrIGF Elections

2020 Elections | 2019 Elections | 2018 Elections | 2017 Elections | 2016 Elections | 2015 Elections

(Community announcement can be found at: https://www.aprigf.asia/news/2018/aprigf-election-2018-election-process-announcement.html)

Voting Period

Start Date: 6 Aug 2018
End Date: 10 Aug 2018 (24:00 UTC)

View Elections Results

Candidates Listing

Vice-Chair position (2018-2020)

Name: Mr. Babu Ram ARYALbio Nepal

Title: Founding Vice Chair, MSG of Nepal IGF
Stakeholder Group: Civil Society

Ask Babu a question

Name: Mr. Waqas HASSANbio Pakistan

Title: President, Internet Society Pakistan Islamabad Chapter
Stakeholder Group: Civil Society

Ask Waqas a question

Elections Committee for 2018

  1. Ms. Maureen Hilyard, Cook Islands (Civil Society)
  2. Mr. Ali Hussain, Pakistan (Private Sector)
  3. Mr. Zakir Syed, Pakistan (Civil Society)

Eligible Voting Members for 2018

(Please refer to the Election Procedure for the criteria)

  1. Adeel Sadiq, Huawei Pakistan (Technical)
  2. Ali Hussain, Pakistan Information Security Association (PISA) (Private Sector)
  3. Amrita Choudhury, CCAOI (Civil Society)
  4. Aris Ignacio, Southville International School and Colleges (Academia)
  5. Chat Garcia Ramilio, APC (Civil Society)
  6. Cheryl Langdon-Orr, At-Large ICANN (Civil Society)
  7. Cherie Lagakali, PICISOC (Civil Society)
  8. Chester Soong, Internet Society Hong Kong (Civil Society)
  9. Edmon Chung, DotAsia Organisation (Technical)
  10. Gunela Astbrink, Internet Society Australia (Civil Society)
  11. Hong Xue, Beijing Normal University (Academia)
  12. Hiro Hotta, JPRS (Technical)
  13. Jahangir Hossain, Internet Society Bangladesh Dhakar Chapter (Civil Society)
  14. Jianne Soriano, NetMission.Asia (Civil Society)
  15. Joyce Chen, ICANN APAC Hub (Technical)
  16. Kasek Galgal, Pacific Island Chapter of The Internet Society (Civil Society)
  17. Kenta Mochizuki, Yahoo Japan Corporation (Private Sector)
  18. Klee Aiken, APNIC (Technical)
  19. Kuowei Wu, TWIGF (Technical)
  20. Leonid Todorov, APTLD (Technical)
  21. Maheeshwara Kirindigoda, Uva Province Governor's Office of Sri Lanka (Government)
  22. Maureen Hilyard, Member of At-Large of ICANN (Civil Society)
  23. Mili Semlani, NetMission.Asia (Civil Society)
  24. Mohit Saraswat,  Pepsi- Dubai Refreshments (PepsiCo Bottler) (Private Sector)
  25. Naveen Lakshman, India (Technical)
  26. Noelle de Guzman, Internet Society (Technical)
  27. Phet Sao, IDRC (Technical)
  28. Rajnesh Singh, Internet Society (Techical)
  29. Satish Babu, APRALO (Civil Society)
  30. Shreedeep Rayamajhi, Rayznews (Civil Society)
  31. Srinivas Chendi, APNIC (Technical)
  32. Sylvia Cadena, APNIC (Technical)
  33. Yik Chan Chin, Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University (Academic)
  34. Waqas Hassan, Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (2018 Candidate)
  35. YingChu Chen,  Taiwan Institute of Economic Research (TIER) (Private Sector)
  36. Zakir Syed, SAMENA Telecommunications Council (Civil Society)
  37. Santosh Sigdel, Internet Society Nepal (Civil Society)

Voting Rules and Procedure:

  • Each eligible voting member will have ONE vote for EACH position and there will not be any proxy votes.
  • Candidates are not allowed to vote for the respective position that they are running for.
  • Eligible voting members will receive individual voting credentials for the online voting platform via email from the secretariat before the voting period
  • For any eligible voting members listed above but do not receive any login credentials until 1 Aug, please kindly contact the secretariat as soon as possible
  • The election result will be announced by the Election Committee within 48 hours after the voting period closing.

For any enquiries, please contact the Election Committee at [email protected].

- last updated 31 Jul 2018